The Club Dumas–Arturo Perez-Reverte

Standard

This book, oh my goodness.

It took a little while for me to get into it, and it’s a bit densely written, but once I got into it I was really into it.

And when I finished it, I nearly screamed in frustration. I suppose that’s to the author’s credit–this is, after all, on the list of 1001 Books to Read Before You Die.

I’m not going to give you the reason why I wanted to scream when I finished this book, just in case you decide to read it yourself at some point.

But basically, it’s about a rare book dealer, one that acts as a go-between for sellers and buyers on a freelance, high-end basis.

He’s got two issues he’s working on. First, to confirm the authenticity of a rough draft of a chapter of “The Three Musketeers” for a friend who got it from one of his friends, who immediately after hung himself.

Second, he’s been commissioned by a collector who recently acquired what is supposed to be the only authentic copy of a book on demonology. There are two other supposedly authentic copies of that book in private collections. His commission is to take the book his client bought and compare it to the others to determine which, if any, are actually authentic.

Gradually he starts to realize that someone is re-enacting portions of “The Three Musketeers” in real life. He’s being stalked by a sinister man, and a beautiful young girl is suddenly interested in him for reasons incomprehensible.

Book collectors start dying. He tries to figure out what the connection between the Dumas chapter and the Demonology book, while trying to stay alive and relatively unharmed.

It’s mystery! It’s adventure! It makes me think I maybe should have read something by Dumas before reading this!

It’s an excellent book, though. Worth your time.

Last time’s trivia answer: The other title of “Why Didn’t They Ask Evans” is “The Boomerang Clue.”

 

Leave a Reply

